Lehre

Our University Teachings

Futures Literacy Lecture

Since winter term 2020-2021, the Center for Future Design offers a new university course on Futures Literacy in Design & Technology Innovation. It was a great success.

There is a range of disciplines (such as architecture, design, or engineering) that like to think ahead into the future. But for many thinking about the future can be overwhelming. They can only imagine a future that they know; a future that they have already experienced in real life or know from books or movies. Not without reason do many pioneers fail to bring their vision to fruition. Think for example of the painstaking introduction of the first automobile (Benz), the first digital camera (Kodak), the coffee capsules (Nespresso) or the first laser printer (Xerox) among many other breakthrough inventions.

All these examples show that it takes more than just using in the future to change the present in order to solve tomorrow’s problems.

Those who aim to make future-oriented interventions are well advised to adopt a phenomenological approach that pays attention to the lived experiences gathered in the process of exploring alternative and preferred futures and to become mindful about the frame they have been using to make sense of and intervene in the world – as well as what is excluded of this frame.

In this course, participants learn the skills and means to effectively create and explore alternative futures in a collaborative way. In particular, we will focus on three basic skills of futures literacy: (1) to use the future to surface systemic assumptions, (2) to design knowledge creation processes to enhance collective sensemaking, and (3) to embrace an anticipatory mindset to nurture and grasp emergence as it happens (as opposed to clinging to old models).

Innovation Sprint

On May 24 and 25, 2019, students from all big Universities of Austria gathered to participate at the 48h Innovation Sprint at the Center for Future Design.

Klaus Fronius, owner and member of the supervisory board of Fronius International and member of the advisory board of the Center for Future Design, and his team (Daniel Fahrner and Harald Hofmann) invented a new technology to generate energy independently. We name it “aggregate” here. Having the size of a conventional PC, it is possible to generate approx. 16 kW power with help of a fuel cell, magnesium paste and water. The 48h Innovation Sprint aims at discovering and discussing potential applications of this new technology as well as their potential economic implementation.

This innovation process was open to students from different universities and disciplines. They were given the possibility to learn from executives of participating companies and contribute to discussions on eye level.

Collaborating companies:

Participating Universities:

Location

Center for Future Design

University of Art and Design
Hauptplatz 6
4020 Linz, Austria

Management

Professor Michael Shamiyeh

Assistant
Agnes Buchberger
+43 732 7898 - 2218

Partners

Professor Larry Leifer
Stanford University

Professor Walter Brenner
Universität St. Gallen

Follow C-FD

Lehre

Unsere Lehre

Futures Literacy Lehrveranstaltung

Seit dem Wintersemester 2020-2021 wird eine neue Lehrveranstaltung am Center for Future Design zum Thema Futures Literacy in Design & Technology Innovation mit großem Erfolg angeboten.

Viele Disziplinen haben jeweils ihre eigene Art und Weise, sich mit der Zukunft zu beschäftigen. Man denke hier etwa an Architektur, Design oder Ingenieurwesen.

Für viele Menschen birgt die Beschäftigung mit der Zukunft gar etwas Überwältigendes. Deshalb ist es vielfach einfacher, sie eine Zukunft auf Basis dessen vorzustellen, was bekannt ist und erlebt wurde. Oder ausgehend davon, was in Büchern oder Filmen gesehen wurde. Nicht ohne Grund scheitern viele Pionier*innen daran, ihre Visionen zu verwirklichen. Die mühsame (Markt-) Einführung des ersten Automobils (Benz), der ersten Digitalkamera (Kodak), der Kaffekapseln (Nespresso) und des ersten Laseprinters (Xerox) seien hier beispielhaft genannt.

Um die Gegenwart aktiv zu gestalten und die Probleme von Morgen zu lösen, braucht es mehr als den bloßen „Gebrauch“ der Zukunft. Es ist notwendig, eine phänomenologische Herangehensweise zu fördern, die das Erlebte und bisherige Denkweisen (und das damit Ausgeschlossene) sichtbar macht.

In diesem Kurs lernen die Teilnehmenden Methoden, die es ermöglichen, kollaborativ alternative Zukünfte zu untersuchen und zu gestalten. Im Besonderen liegt der Fokus auf diesen drei grundsätzlichen Bereichen der Futures Literacy: (1) Wie können unbewusste systemische Annahmen sichtbar gemacht werden? (2) Wie können Wissensschaffungsprozesse gestaltet werden, um kollektive Sinnstiftung zu fördern? (3) Wie kann eine anzipitatorische Denkweise verinnerlicht werden, die es erlaubt, Neues zu erkennen und zu nutzen?

Innovation Sprint

Zwischen 24. und 25. Mai 2019 konnten Studierende aller großen Universitäten Österreichs am 48h Innovation Sprint des Center for Future Design teilnehmen.

Klaus Fronius, Eigentümer und Aufsichtsrat der Fronius International sowie Beirat des Center for Future Design, hat mit seinem Team (Daniel Fahrner, Hofmann Harald) eine vollkommen neuartige Technologie zur autarken Energieerzeugung entwickelt. In der Größe eines konventionellen PCs werden über eine Brennstoffzelle und der Zuführung einer „Magnesiumpaste“ und Wasser rund 16 KW Strom vollkommen autark erzeugt. Der 48h Innovation Sprint hatte zum Ziel, grundsätzliche Fragestellungen in Hinblick auf mögliche Anwendungen dieser neuen Technologie sowie deren wirtschaftliche Umsetzungen zu thematisieren.

Studierenden unterschiedlicher Universitäten und Disziplinen wurde die Möglichkeit geboten, an einem offenen Innovationsprozess teilzuhaben, von inputgebenden Führungskräften der mitwirkenden Leitbetriebe Innovationsmethoden zu lernen sowie sich mit anderen Teilnehmern und Teilnehmerinnen auf Augenhöhe auszutauschen.

Case-Coaches von folgenden Unternehmen haben die Studierenden begleitet:

Studierende folgender Universitäten nahmen teil:

Standort

Center for Future Design

University of Art and Design
Hauptplatz 6
4020 Linz, Austria

Leitung

Professor Michael Shamiyeh

Assistenz
Agnes Buchberger
+43 732 7898 - 2218

Partner

Professor Larry Leifer
Stanford University

Professor Walter Brenner
Universität St. Gallen

Folge C-FD