Who are we?

Who are we?

Today’s world is characterized by volatility, uncertainty, complexity, and ambiguity – conditions that lead to upheavals and make us perceive this as an increasingly fast-moving and fragmented environment.

Those responsible for corporate development or political decision-making have reason to recognize the inadequacy of traditional planning approaches: Focusing on special areas and addressing individual symptoms does not lead to sustainable solutions. In order to ensure the survival and success of companies as a whole in a responsible manner, managers are required to acquire a new role – one that opens up alternative perspectives on the world to enable new orientation options or problem-solving which overcomes the divides between sectoral interests. This new form of general responsibility in one’s actions requires new social methods, and new leadership and innovation skills.

Our role as an application-oriented research driver and pathfinder is to guide you to develop a higher level of innovation and leadership skills based on the overall context. Personal exchange at peer level with high-profile personalities from science and practice in the context of real challenges enables you to rethink and perceive the limits of your own enterprise and to research the future with prototypes of specific actions.

Our Origin

Founded in 2017, the Center for Future Design emerged from the Design-Organization-Media research laboratory that had been established fifteen years before to deal with the central questions of future management in order to focus specifically on the development of innovation and leadership skills in a corporate context. The challenges of our target group required a degree of flexibility and creativity in the learning process that could not be achieved within the structures and limits of a university. It required prioritizing social learning and the learning of learning in contrast to the abstract learning of conventional training formats through presenting of expertise and approaches.

The Team

Head

Michael Shamiyeh is a university professor, and both founder and director of the Center for Future Design at the University of Art and Design Linz. Professor Shamiyeh is also a partner at the International Center for Corporate Governance at the University of St. Gallen and has been a visiting professor at Stanford University since 2017.

He is a graduate of the University of St. Gallen (PhD in Management), Harvard University (Postprofessional Master’s in Architecture), AA London (MA History and Critical Thinking) and the Technical University of Vienna (DI in Architecture). With more than 25 years of international professional experience in the field of architecture and design and more than 15 years in strategic management, he combines both competencies for successful future management. His work has received several national and international awards.

Assistant

Agnes Buchberger has been working as a consultant for the Center for Future Design since February 2020. Prior to this she was employed as an organizational assistant at the Chair of Media and Technology Philosophy in the Department of Philosophy at the University of Vienna.

She also holds a bachelor’s degree in Philosophy as well as a bachelor’s degree in Cultural and Social Anthropology from the University of Vienna and has completed a master’s in Social Ecology from the University of Klagenfurt in Vienna.

Advisory Board

Klaus Fronius is an honorary senator at Graz University of Technology (TU Graz), was head of the family-run Fronius International Ltd. for over 35 years and switched to the company’s supervisory board in 2012. During his time as managing partner (1980 to 2011), he played a key role in the strategic direction of the company and was one of the first pioneers in the field of alternative energy generation to take future-oriented steps.

As co-initiator of the commercial academy in Wels in 1994, the engineer Fronius made a fundamental contribution to the development of the research world in the area of renewable energies in Upper Austria. In a video released in 2012 by the Energy Region Wels / Wels-province / Eferding, he spoke for the end of “fighting about energy” and wished all people unhindered access to sufficient and, above all, alternative energy reserves.

Bolko von Oetinger received his PhD in foreign policy from Arnulf Baring at the Free University of Berlin (Freie Universität Berlin) and an MBA from the Stanford Graduate School of Business. From 1974 to 2008 he worked for the Boston Consulting Group (BCG) in Menlo Park, Paris, and Munich. In addition to his client work with a focus on strategy, organization, and innovation, he also held a number of international management positions.

Since 1998 he has been teaching strategic management at WHU in Koblenz / Vallendar, where he was appointed to honorary professor in 2004. As Deputy Chairman of the Board of Trustees of the BMW Foundation Herbert Quandt and at the Wittenberg Center for Global Ethics, he is committed to corporate social responsibility. Bolko von Oetinger has written numerous articles and books on strategy.

Karlheinz Schwuchow has held the professorship for international management at Bremen University since 1999 and heads the CIMS Center for International Management Studies. After studying business administration and earning an MBA in the USA, he worked from 1985 to 1991 in executive development at the USW University Seminar in economics at Schloss Gracht. While working he completed a doctorate on the side Dr. rer. pol.

Schwuchow held several positions. Among others he worked in management and strategy consulting, was founding managing director of the Center for Financial Studies – Institute for Continuing Education Ltd. in Frankfurt / Main, was managing director of the GISMA Business School in Hanover, and was the founding officer for the Center for Leadership, Innovation, and Change at Jacobs University Bremen.

Partners

Walter Brenner is the managing director of the Institute for Information Systems (Business Informatics). He held professorships at the University of Essen and the TU Bergakademie Freiberg. From 1985 to 1989, Walter Brenner worked for Alusuisse-Lonza AG in Basel, and finally as Head of Application Development, today we would call him a CIO.

His research focuses on industrialization of information management, industrial services, corporate information systems and the digital consumer business. He also works as a freelance consultant on information management and company preparation for the digitally networked world.

Larry Leifer joined the faculty in 1976. Prior to this, he was an assistant professor at the Swiss Federal Institute of Technology in Zurich and spent four years at the Human Information Processing Laboratory at NASA Ames Research Centers.

His education comprises a bachelor’s degree in engineering, a master’s degree in product design (art), and a PhD in biomedical technology (neuroscience). He was among others a founding director of the Intelligent Product Design Laboratory, the Center for Design Research (CDR), the Stanford Learning Laboratory as well as the Hasso Plattner Design Thinking research program at Stanford. His teaching laboratory is the Graduate Program ME310, an industry-project-based program for industrial design, innovation, and development. 

Lecturers

Tamara Carleton

CEO and Founder
Innovation Leadership Group LLC

Martin J. Eppler

Professor for Communication Management
University of St. Gallen

Tessa Finlev

Foresight Strategist
Dolby Laboratories

Michael Hilb

Founder and CEO
DBP Holding Ltd

Andri Hinnen

Founder and Managing Director
ZENSE - Reframing Complexity

Patrick Hunger

former CEO
Saxo Bank Schweiz

Dagmar Laub

Head of Corporate Communication, Member of the Board
Zürcher Kantonalbank

Darcy Olmos Mancilla

Leiter
AIRBUS Urban Air Mobility Lateinamerika und WIFO

Adrian Müller

Professor for Innovation Management and Entrepreneurship
Zurich University of Applied Sciences

Patricia Stone

Head Customer Experience & Analytics, Director
Swiss Re

Victor Taratukhin

Member of the Chair for Information Systems and Information Management
University of Münster

Oleksiy Tatarenko

Strategic Projects Manager
Shell International B.V.

Stefan Wolf

Manager of Strategy
Volkswagen Nutzfahrzeuge

Location

Center for Future Design
University of Art and Design
Hauptplatz 6, 4010 Linz, Austria
+43 732 7898 EXT 2218
office@c-fd.eu

Management

Professor Michael Shamiyeh

Assistenz
Agnes Buchberger
+43 732 7898 - 2218

Partner

Professor Larry Leifer
Stanford University

Professor Walter Brenner
Universität St. Gallen

Das Center

Wer wir sind

Die heutige Welt ist von Volatilität, Unsicherheit, Komplexität und Mehrdeutigkeit gekennzeichnet – Bedingungen, die zu Umbrüchen führen und uns das Umfeld zunehmend schnelllebig und fragmentiert wahrnehmen lassen.

Jene Menschen, die für Unternehmensentwicklung oder politische Entscheidungsprozesse verantwortlich sind, erkennen nicht ohne Grund die Unzulänglichkeit traditioneller Planungsansätze. Das fokussierte Betrachten von Spezialbereichen und das Adressieren von Einzelsymptomen führen zu keinen nachhaltigen Lösungen. Um das Überleben sowie den Erfolg von Unternehmen gesamthaft verantwortungsvoll zu sichern, sind Führungskräfte gefordert, sich einer neuen Rolle zuzuwenden – einer, die für die Ermöglichung neuer Orientierungsoptionen oder Problemlösungen alternative Sichtweisen der Welt öffnet und die Kluft sektoraler Interessen überwindet. Für diese neue Form des gesamthaft verantwortungsvollen Handelns braucht es neue soziale Techniken sowie Führungs- und Innovationsfähigkeiten.

Wir verstehen unsere Rolle als anwendungsorientiert forschender Impulsgeber und Begleiter unserer Teilnehmer*innen auf dem Weg, eine höhere, sich an den übergreifenden Zusammenhängen orientierende Innovations- und Führungskompetenz zu entwickeln. Der persönliche Austausch auf Augenhöhe mit profilierten Persönlichkeiten aus Wissenschaft und Praxis im Kontext der realen Herausforderung ermöglicht die Grenzen der eigenen Unternehmung neu zu denken und wahrzunehmen sowie Zukunft prototypisch im konkreten Handeln zu erforschen.

Unsere Herkunft

Im Jahre 2017 gegründet, ging das Center for Future Design aus dem fünfzehn Jahre zuvor etablierten und mit zentralen Fragen des Zukunftsmanagements beschäftigen Design-Organization-Media Forschungslabor hervor, um sich speziell auf die Entwicklung von Innovations- und Führungskompetenzen im Unternehmenskontext zu konzentrieren. Die Herausforderungen unserer Zielgruppe verlangten ein Maß an Flexibilität und Kreativität im Lernprozess, welches innerhalb der Strukturen und Grenzen einer Universität nicht erreicht werden konnte. Es bedurfte der Priorisierung von sozialem Lernen und des Lernens des Lernens gegenüber dem abstrakten Lernen konventioneller Ausbildungsformate durch Vortragen von Fachwissen und Vorgehensweisen.

Das Team

Leitung

Michael Shamiyeh ist Universitätsprofessor, Gründer und Leiter des Center for Future Design an der Universität für Kunst und Design Linz. Professor Shamiyeh ist zudem Partner am International Center for Corporate Governance an der Universität St. Gallen und seit 2017 Gastprofessor an der Stanford University.

Er ist Absolvent der Universität St. Gallen (PhD in Management), der Harvard University (Postprofessional Master in Architektur), der AA London (MA History and Critical Thinking) sowie von der Technischen Universität Wien (DI in der Architektur). Mit mehr als 25 Jahren internationaler Berufserfahrung im Bereich Architektur und Design sowie mehr als 15 Jahren im strategischen Management kann er beide Kompetenzen für ein erfolgreiches Zukunfts-Management miteinander verbinden. Seine Arbeit wurde mehrfach national und international ausgezeichnet.

 

Erfahren Sie hier mehr über seine Arbeit .

Assistenz

Agnes Buchberger ist seit Februar 2020 als Assistentin für das Center for Future Design tätig. Zuvor war sie mehrere Jahre als Organisationsassistentin am Lehrstuhl für Medien- und Technikphilosophie am Institut für Philosophie, Universität Wien angestellt. Zudem hat sie die Studien der Philosophie (BA) und der Kultur- und Sozialanthropologie (BA) an der Universität Wien sowie der Sozial- und Humanökologie (MA) an der Universität Klagenfurt (Standort Wien) absolviert.

Beiräte

Klaus Fronius ist Ehrensenator der TU Graz, stand über 35 Jahre an der Spitze des Familienunternehmens Fronius International GmbH und wechselte 2012 in den Aufsichtsrat des Unternehmens. Während seiner Zeit als geschäftsführender Gesellschafter (1980 bis 2011) war er maßgeblich an der strategischen Ausrichtung des Unternehmens beteiligt und setzte dabei als einer der ersten Pioniere im Bereich der alternativen Energiegewinnung zukunftsweisende Schritte.

Als Mitinitiator der FH Wels 1994 trug Ing. Fronius grundlegend zum Aufbau der Forschungslandschaft im Bereich der erneuerbaren Energien in Oberösterreich bei. In einem Video, das 2012 von der Energie-Region Wels/Wels-Land/Eferding veröffentlicht wurde, spricht er sich für ein Ende des „Kampfes um Energie“ aus und wünscht sich für alle Menschen ungehinderten Zugang zu ausreichenden und vor allem alternativ gewonnenen Energiereserven.

Bolko von Oetinger promovierte in Außenpolitik bei Arnulf Baring an der Freien Universität Berlin und erwarb einen MBA an der Stanford Graduate School of Business. Von 1974 bis 2008 war er für die Boston Consulting Group (BCG) in Menlo Park, Paris und München tätig. Neben seiner Klientenarbeit mit den Schwerpunkten Strategie, Organisation und Innovation übte er eine Reihe internationaler Führungsfunktionen aus, u.a. gehörte er zwölf Jahre lang dem weltweiten Executive Committee an. 1998 gründete er das BCG-Strategieinstitut, das er bis zu seinem Ausscheiden aus der aktiven Beratung im Jahr 2008 leitete.

Seit 1998 lehrt er Strategisches Management an der WHU in Koblenz/Vallendar, 2004 wurde er zum Honorarprofessor ernannt.  Als stellvertretender Vorsitzender des Kuratoriums der BMW Foundation Herbert Quandt und im Wittenberg Zentrum für globale Ethik engagiert er sich für die gesellschaftliche Verantwortung von Unternehmen.

Karlheinz Schwuchow ist seit 1999 Inhaber der Professur für Internationales Management an der Hochschule Bremen und leitet das CIMS Center for International Management Studies. Nach dem Studium der Betriebswirtschaftslehre und einem MBA-Studium in den USA arbeitete er von 1985 bis 1991 in der Führungskräfteentwicklung am USW Universitätsseminar der Wirtschaft, Schloss Gracht. Während dieser Zeit promovierte er berufsbegleitend zum Dr. rer. pol.

Schwuchow bekleidete diverse Stellen. Unter anderem war in der Management- und Strategieberatung tätig, baute als Gründungsgeschäftsführer das Center for Financial Studies – Institut für Weiterbildung GmbH in Frankfurt/Main auf, war Geschäftsführer der GISMA Business School in Hannover und war Gründungsbeauftragter für das Center for Leadership, Innovation, and Change der Jacobs University Bremen.

Partner

Walter Brenner ist Professor für Wirtschaftsinformatik und zudem geschäftsführender Direktor des Instituts für Wirtschaftsinformatik an er Universität St. Gallen. Er hatte Professuren an der Universität Essen und der TU Bergakademie Freiberg inne.

Von 1985 bis 1989 war Walter Brenner Mitarbeiter der Alusuisse-Lonza AG in Basel, zuletzt als Leiter der Anwendungsentwicklung, heute würde man sagen, er war CIO. Seine Forschungsschwerpunkte umfassen Industrialisierung des Informationsmanagements, industrielle Services, betriebliche Informationssysteme und das Digital Consumer Business. Daneben ist er freiberuflich als Berater in Fragen des Informationsmanagements und der Vorbereitung von Unternehmen auf die digitale, vernetzte Welt tätig.

Larry Leifer ist Direktor des Center for Design Research an der Universität Stanford. Er trat 1976 in die Fakultät ein. Zuvor war er als Assistenzprofessor an der Eidgenössischen Technischen Hochschule in Zürich und vier Jahre am Human Information Processing-Labor des NASA Ames Research Centers tätig.

Seine Ausbildung umfasst einen Bachelor-Abschluss in Ingenieurwissenschaften, einen Master-Abschluss in Produktdesign (Kunst) und einen PhD in Biomedizintechnik (Neurowissenschaften). Er war u.a. Gründungsdirektor des Intelligenten Produkt-design-Labors, des Zentrums für Designforschung (CDR), des Stanford-Lernlabors sowie des Hasso Plattner Design Thinking Forschungsprogramms in Stanford. Sein Lehrlabor ist das Graduiertenprogram ME310, ein auf Industrieprojekten basierendes Programm für Industriedesign, Innovation und Entwicklung.

Dozent*innen

Tamara Carleton

CEO und Gründerin
Innovation Leadership Group LLC

Martin J. Eppler

Ordinarius für Kommunikationsmanagement
Universität St. Gallen

Tessa Finlev

Foresight Strategist
Dolby Laboratories

Michael Hilb

Gründer und CEO
DBP Holding Ltd

Andri Hinnen

Gründer und Geschäftsführer
ZENSE - Reframing Complexity

Patrick Hunger

ehem. CEO
Saxo Bank Schweiz

Dagmar Laub

Leiterin Unternehmenskommunikation, Direktionsmitglied
Zürcher Kantonalbank

Darcy Olmos Mancilla

Leiter
AIRBUS Urban Air Mobility Lateinamerika und WIFO

Adrian Müller

Professor für Innovationsmanagement und Entrepreneurship
Zürcher Hochschule für Angewandte Wissenschaften

Patricia Stone

Head Customer Experience & Analytics, Director
Swiss Re

Victor Taratukhin

Mitglied des Lehrstuhls für Wirtschaftsinformatik und Informationsmanagement
Universität Münster

Oleksiy Tatarenko

Strategic Projects Manager
Shell International B.V.

Stefan Wolf

Manager Langfrist- und Produktstrategie
Volkswagen Nutzfahrzeuge

Standort

Center for Future Design

University of Art and Design
Hauptplatz 6
4020 Linz, Austria

Leitung

Professor Michael Shamiyeh

Assistenz
Agnes Buchberger
+43 732 7898 - 2218

Partner

Professor Larry Leifer
Stanford University

Professor Walter Brenner
Universität St. Gallen